How to Delete Your WhatsApp Account permanently
So you’ve finally decided to delete your WhatsApp and wipe your slate clean as you go, then you’ve definitely come to the right spot. WhatsApp is a popular instant messaging platform which is available on both the iOS and Android platform. Now, if you’ve made up your mind to delete your WhatsApp account permanently then there are some things you should know before we begin.
Things to know before deleting Your WhatsApp Account
- This process is final, you can’t regain access to your WhatsApp account after permanently deleting it.
- Allow up to 90 days for your data stored on WhatsApp’s server to be completely deleted, during which it will not be accessible on WhatsApp.
- Copies of some material may remain in WhatsApp’s database but will be disassociated from being personally identifiable.
- Permanently deleting your WhatsApp account doesn’t affect the information other WhatsApp users have relating to you. (E.g, sent voice notes, messages, pictures etc)
- Your personal information shared with WhatsApp’s sister company – Facebook – will also be deleted.
Now that you know all these, we can now go ahead and show you how to permanently delete your WhatsApp account.
How to delete your WhatsApp Account permanently
First things first, you need to know what occurs when you permanently delete your WhatsApp account. The following listed below occurs when you delete your WhatsApp account permanently:
- Erases your WhatsApp account from the WhatsApp platform.
- Clears and Deletes all your existing WhatsApp chats.
- Removes you from all WhatsApp group you’re in.
- Wipes clean the Google Drive backup of your WhatsApp chats.
This pretty much erases you from WhatsApp. You should also note that permanently deleting your WhatsApp won’t delete any of your contacts you have on your phone. However, contacts your chat with on WhatsApp whose numbers weren’t saved to your phone will be deleted. So make sure to save the phone numbers of those people that you didn’t. Starting to digress, so let’s get back to it.
Steps to Delete Your WhatsApp
- Open the WhatsApp Application on your smartphone.
- Tap on the three vertical dots at the top right side of the screen and hit the “Settings” options from the drop-down menu.
- Tap on “Account” and then select “Delete My Account”
- You’ll be shown everything that’ll happen once you delete your account along with an option to “Change Phone Number Instead” which basically allows you to transfer your WhatsApp account from one number to another.
- If you still want to delete your WhatsApp account permanently then Select your country code and input your WhatsApp number in the space provided. After that, Hit “Delete my account” and that’s it. You may or may not receive a code in form of text for verification/authentication.
Once that is done, then you’ve pretty much been wiped clean from WhatsApp. If you have any more questions about deleting your WhatsApp account permanently or you’re having troubles deleting your WhatsApp account, feel free to let us know in the comment section Down Below.