How To Delete or Temporarily Deactivate Your Instagram account
Here, we will be showing you how to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account as well as deleting it permanently. Instagram is a fun place to be with lots of photos and videos, most importantly, it brings us closer to our friends and also allows us to share our photos with friends and the world at large. However, it is sometimes Normal to want to take a break from all that or just permanently leave the platform as a whole. There are so many reasons as to why someone would want to permanently delete or temporarily deactivate his/her account.
Whatever the reason might be, Instagram has got you covered with a way to leave the platform for a short while; temporary delete or forever; permanently delete and we will be showing you how to go about both here.
How To Temporarily Deactivate Your Instagram Account
If you just want to leave Instagram for while with the chance of coming back later on then simply follow the steps below to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account.
- First, Log on to the Instagram Website (www.instagram.com) on a desktop PC – Windows or Mac – and then Log in to your Instagram account.
- Once you’re Logged In, Click on your profile Icon at the top right corner and Select Edit Profile.
- From here you’ll be able to see the option ” Temporarily disable my account”, Click on it.
- You’ll be asked to choose a reason why you would like to disable your Instagram account with some articles in the Instagram help centre listed below that just in case you were having trouble with some things on Instagram that prompted the need to disable your Instagram account.
- Once you choose a reason, you’ll need to enter your password and then tap on the “Temporarily disable account” button to finish the process.
Doing this will cause you, your account, as well as all your photos, comments and likes to be hidden on the Instagram platform. This will remain like that till you re-activate it by logging in to your account which will bring back your account and all your Photos, videos, likes and comments. Also, while your account is disabled, nobody can register on Instagram using your handle/@, just in case you were wondering.
How To Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account
If you’re looking for a more permanent solution for your Instagram account then you’ll need to follow this method. However, you need to know that permanently deleting your Instagram account means that everything is final. You won’t be able to recover your Instagram account, your photos, videos, likes, comments, friendships and other pieces of data associated with that Instagram account. Also, you or anyone else won’t be able to use that username while signing up again. Basically, that username will be in a limbo state forever. Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get started.
- Log on to the Instagram delete a page (https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/) and Log in to your Instagram Account if you aren’t logged in already.
- You’ll be asked to choose a reason why you would like to permanently delete tour Instagram account. Choose one and provide your password in the space provided.
- Lastly, click on the “permanently delete my account” button.
- Once you click on that button, your Instagram is gone for good. All likes, comments, photos, videos, etc get wiped off and that username can’t be used ever again.
There you have it on how to temporarily Deactivate your Instagram account or permanently delete it. Although, I’ll advise that you just Deactivate it which has a similar effect with the permanent one except having the option to re-activate it by simply logging in. Nevertheless, the choice is yours to make and I hope I’ve helped. Still having problems with your Instagram account? Let us know using the comment section down below.